Start free trial

Home > News, Articles & Multimedia > Blog Entry > This Week in Geek: 8/13

This Week in Geek: 8/13

by Matt Baum (08/17/08).
Cover of Green Lantern Corps #27
Cover of Secret Invasion Inhumans #1
Cover of Golly #1

New Comics Day is upon us once again and boy howdy is this one going to be huge. Marvel is hitting its fans with a wallet-smashing (or purse-smashing) 20 different titles this week, 6 of which are direct Secret Invasion tie-ins. Like a pit-bull biting down on the market share and shaking it like a rag doll Marvel continues to dominate Summer comic sales while DC continues to clean-up in the internet-fan-criticism department as Final Crisis and Batman RIP just get weirder and weirder. When these series finally end I’m predicting that I will have enjoyed them both. However, Morrison’s writing has been so bizarre it’s reminded me more of his head-scratching work on DC/Vertigo’s The Invisibles than his classic 90′s JLA run.

This week we get the latest installment of Morrison’s Batman RIP storyline in Batman #679. After last months issue which found Bruce Wayne wandering around with the ghost of a junkie only to don a multi-colored bat-suit and proclaiming himself “the Batman of Zur-Enh-Arrh”, I find myself confused and losing interest. A good friend of mine described Morrison’s writing style as “pointillist”, a painting style wherein the artist uses small dots to create a bigger picture and I agree with him. When looking at single panels or even pages of Morrison’s story I find myself turning my head like a confused dog but, when presented with the whole story Morrison’s ideas and themes usually become apparent and are usually pretty good… Usually… I still can’t tell you what happened in his 2005 Seven Soldiers crossover. I love you Grant and I believe in you, but sometimes you can be hard to love.

Now lets get to my Wednesday hot picks!

”Golly”; Image Comics; Written by Phil Hester; Art and cover by Brooke Turner; $2.99.

Image Comics is quickly becoming the official Hollywood and TV try out company with almost all of it’s hot titles being optioned for both the big and small screen. Golly writer Hester is also the creator of Image’s Firebreather, which also comes out this week and is worth reading, which is currently being turned into an animated series for Cartoon Networks Adult Swim late night programming. Hester’s latest title is being touted as “Southern Fried Horror in the vein of Preacher and The Goon”, by Comicbookresources.com both of which are required horror comic reading.

Why it’ll go fast: Golly has all the look of an adult horror book that’s just a little to irreverent for DC’s Vertigo imprint and will probably sell on the order of other Vertigo hits like Fables and Hellblazer. That is after this first issue disappears and is reprinted several times. Look for initial orders on Golly #1 to be low and print-runs to vanish quickly. Any true horror fan needs to look no further than the cover to see the quality here. Demon’s, angles, and a guy in a Dio t-shirt working on an engine. What more could the horror comic enthusiast ask for?

”Secret Invasion: Inhumans”#1 of 4; Written by Joe Pokaski; Art by Tom Raney; Cover by Stejpan Seijic; $2.99.

Why it’s hot: Since reading Avengers: Illuminati #5 readers have been wondering what happened to ”Black Bolt”? The wait is over as NBC Heroes writer Joe Pokaski shows us what happens after the ”Inhumans” found out their leader was replaced by a ”Skrull”.

Why it’ll go fast: The Inhumans haven’t been a huge seller since the 1998 Paul Jenkins/Jae Lee 12-issue mini-series so don’t expect to see retailers ordering piles of this Secret Invasion tie-in. Pokaski is a hot-shot tv-writer but has yet to prove himself in the comic world, which is laughable if you compare the size of the audiences. Raney’s art has been hit or miss for the past few years but looks excellent here as he returns to a style reminiscent of his ”Stormwatch” days at Image comics in the early 90′s. S.I. Inhumans looks great and is going to be a great read for fans of Marvel’s Secret Invasion event.

Green Lantern Corps; Written by Peter Tomasi; Art by Luke Ross; Cover by Rodolfo Migliari; $2.99.

Why it’ll go fast: Green Lantern Corps has quietly been becoming one of my favorite DC team books since issue #1. The latest storyline is building to the Green Lantern “Blackest Night” storyline that everyone who has been reading either Green Lantern book is eagerly anticipating. Paired with an amazing painted by (newcomer?) Rodolfo Migliari and top notch interior art Green Lantern Corps is going to be selling out faster and faster as Blackest Night grows closer making these early issues impossible to find in the future. GL Corps has moved up slightly on the Diamond Comics estimated top 300 selling comics from May to June (#46-#44) but is still under-ordered and routinely selling out at most comic shops.

That’s all for this week. Sorry about my lateness but there were some minor site issues that the big-brains had to help me with. Which means I was brow beaten and insulted for my pathetic level of computer literacy and will receive extra beatings by my worthpoint masters. Before you feel sorry for me know that I chose this life and desrerve every lashing. After all, they wouldn’t hit me if they didn’t love me. At least that’s what they keep saying anyway.

Until next week, keep the questions coming, feel free to post to the forum topics in the comic books community and tell me what you’re reading/collecting. Also, chek out my other blog The Comic Speculator, where I discuss classic yet still affordable back-issue comics. If you have any questions about these books or anything else in the comic book world feel free to contact me or post your question in the Comic Book community forum. Want to know what your comics are worth? Join Worthpoint for free and post your titles in the “Ask A Question” section.

Want a picture icon with your comment? Sign up with Gravatar to get one, or connect with your Facebook or Twitter account.

Looking for even more discussion? Check out the WorthPoint Forums.

Leave a Reply

Connect with Facebook