Start free trial

Cool New Member Here Saying Hi!

Hey everybody!

I just signed up and wanted to introduce myself.

I couldn't find a place for introductions so I chose here. (If that's incorrect administrators please move this to the right place or let me know where to say hi)..if there is no particular place for newbies to say hi, maybe a topic just for introductions could be made here in the forum.

I'm no stranger to forums, I belong to a bunch (for years now) but this one is a little tricky.

Just for now I'll say I'm 44 years old in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada.

I've been collecting all sorts of goodies since I was 5 years old (1973).

My Mom and Dad were collectors too, my Dad had to retire very early with no pension or safety net because of Cancer so we learned early on how to save and stretch what little money we had. Thus the collecting followed.

We have many fields of collecting passions but my special area of expertise is Vintage Comic Books. Golden, Silver, Bronze and Copper Age.

I have over 22000 vintage comic books and have become an expert in the field. I even taught a night course for "Basic Comic Book Collecting" that benefited new and beginner collectors as well as the highly advanced.

I am also a professional Rock Drummer, I've been playing/touring/recording for over 31 years now.

That is where I've earned the name "Hollywood Hank"!

I have a good eye for vintage and antique items and have a great deal of knowledge on several collecting area's but I'm looking to learn even MORE about a half dozen more.

You know the people who buy a collection and flip it quickly...that's not me! I'M the guy that buys in bulk (when I can) and sorts through everything individually and turns it into a business. Due to back and neck problems my rock n' roll days are (for the moment) on hold so I'm turning to my other passions (antiques and collectibles) and making it my full time work.